(7) morning

20120707-055535.jpg

What does that song say? Great is thy faithfulness…morning by morning new mercies I see…

I’m starting work soon and this quiet morning will fill up quickly with voices and tasks and questions and phone ringing and cheerfulness that I may or may not feel.

Right now, though, it is quiet. I am accompanied in the silence by the young dad I saw walking by with his wide-awake baby in a front pack. Maybe the mama is still resting. Maybe he just wanted some time alone with the little one. And outside the window, a grandpa-looking man is carefully cleaning his boat for a day on the water. The boat probably doesn’t mind being his because he cares for it. Is he the sort of person who gives the same care in life with people? Am I that sort of person?

If you wake me each morning with the sound of your loving voice, I’ll go to sleep each night trusting in you. Point out the road I must travel; I’m all ears, all eyes before you. (from Psalm 143, the Message)

Is that first phrase meant to be irony or wit? Or is it the gentle reminder that, indeed, you do wake me each morning with the sound of your loving voice? Whether I hear you or not through the blaring alarm and my own groaning is another matter.

The boat man awoke early with purpose, looking forward to today. The father, with love and duty, to be awake with his little one. And I, although I may have missed it upon waking, I’m straining to hear it now: the sound of your loving voice.

Leave a Reply

