(9a) soul pleasure

20120711-132257.jpg

He’s hungry, he says. I realize slowly that I am as well. An idea begins to form, random bits and pieces from the fridge are coming together as I envision a finished product: satisfaction, delight.
I giggle at my silly wonder upon opening the spice cupboard. My soul grins as I choose the voices for today’s choir (lunch). I’m not the kitchen’s Beethoven; I don’t know exactly what it will sound like in the end, so I just choose what I love and what calls to me today: Worcestershire, rice vinegar, sesame oil, soy sauce, ground mustard, cumin, cinnamon, fresh garlic…honey? I’m uncertain, but I’m not planning on creating a masterpiece, just moment of joy.
As it turned out, it was all quite a hit. I loved feeding him. He loved being fed. And my soul delighted in the process.

Leave a Reply

