(85) write {five minute friday}

I saw this prompt last night around the same time I was poking through an old journal and came across a question my sister had asked me about a year ago: “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?” And then I answered it without thinking last night that I would write – write more, write bolder, write truth, write emotion, write whatever to get through the stuck spaces into the broadness of flow. I want to be a writer, a person who writes. I have a lot of words in me, I know this, and I want to share them.

If there’s pride in that, so be it. I’ll deal with it, but maybe later. In the meantime, I want to write. Maybe this is the path toward becoming more myself, growing into my body, toward intimacy with the world, with myself, with God.

It is scary that people read it. But that’s why it’s important. Because scary things are often good things in the end. They are the growing times, the good things, the beautiful things that remind me what is real.

The wind is blowing hard outside tonight and I’m here, inside, writing this, thinking about all the other things there are to write about.

 

**

Written in collaboration with Lisa-Jo Baker’s “Five Minute Friday” – a 5-minute free write on a one-word prompt.

3 thoughts on “(85) write {five minute friday}

Leave a Reply

